Loudoun DUI/DWI Lawyer
Loudoun Virginia DUI/DWI Attorney
Defending Against Charges of Driving Under the Influence
If you have been arrested for DUI in Virginia, you may be panicking and wondering what to do. When you are facing this type of serious charge, it is important that you do not lose all hope. You will benefit from a tradition of personal legal service that began in 1982 and has had decades of continuous experience helping clients achieve the best possible outcomes for their respective cases.
Call Carleton Penn III today at (703) 293-5910 to set up a free consultation.
Cases We Handle
Carleton Penn III can offer you aggressive defense against all types of DUI / DWI charges. We are here to help you avoid a conviction and the related consequences.
We can offer you representation and advice on the following matters:
- DUI causing an accident
- DUI with injury
- 1st time DUI
- Multiple DUI
- DUI with Drugs
- DMV hearings
- Blood testing
- Breathalyzer tests
- DUI manslaughter
- Underage DUI
Consequences of a DUI Conviction
The court process for DUI / DWI can be extremely complex and lengthy, which is why it is so important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney, who can ensure you understand the nature of the charges against you, as well as the consequences you could face. Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you could face serious penalties that include time in jail, suspension of your license, fines, and probation.
Breathalyzer Testing vs. Field Testing
Field tests are usually the first method a police officer will use to determine if you are intoxicated once they pull you over. These tests include: 9-step walk and turn, horizontal gaze nystagmus and one leg stand. They are not mandatory and often can be affected by other factors, leading to inaccurate results. Breath tests or the Breathalyzer test is the most common and most accurate way to analyze your BAC. If your BAC is tested at .08% or higher, you may be arrested and charged with DUI/DWI.
DUI Penalties in Virginia
Put More Than 30 Years of Experience to Work for You
If you have been charged with a DUI, you are facing significant penalties. It’s important to enlist the help of a skilled Virginia DUI attorney to fight these charges as soon as possible. With Carleton Penn III, you can expect personal service and aggressive representation.
Virginia DUI Law
To be charged with a DUI in Virginia, you must have been found with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08%. If under 21, the legal limit is .02% and if a commercial driver, the legal limit is .04%. Alcohol consumption affects each individual’s BAC differently and depends on various factors such as weight, body-fat percentage, and more.
The penalties for a first-time DUI include the following:
- A minimum 5 days in jail
- A minimum fine of $250
- A license suspension of 1 year
- Required ignition interlock device installation (if BAC is .15 or more)
The penalties for a second DUI charge include the following:
- A minimum of 20 days to 1 year in jail
- A minimum fine of $500
- A license suspension of 3 years
- Required ignition interlock device installation
The penalties for a third DUI charge include the following:
- A minimum of 6 months in jail
- A minimum fine of $1,000
- An indefinite license suspension
- Required ignition interlock device installation
Penalties for Refusing a Chemical Test
The State of Virginia upholds an implied consent law. This means that you are subject to penalties if you refuse a chemical test. These penalties include various fines and automatic license suspension.
Test refusal might result in the following:
- First offense: 1-year license suspension
- Second offense: 3-year license suspension (if prior offense within 10 years)
- Third offense: 3-year license suspension (if prior offense within 10 years)
Loudoun DUID Attorney
Charged with Driving Under the Influence of Drugs? Call Today.
Driving under the influence does not just refer to the influence of alcohol. If you have been found operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs, you could be facing serious charges. Fortunately, there are many defense strategies that might be able to be applied to your case in order to reduce your charges or dismiss them altogether.
To learn more about your legal options, get in touch with an experienced DUID lawyer from Carleton Penn III. Since 1982, I have defended the rights of clients facing criminal charges and established a track record of success.
DUID Charges in Virginia
The law states that any individual who is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of any sort of drug, whether prescription drugs, illegal drugs, or other combination is liable to be charged if he or she is too impaired to operate the vehicle or is found to have a blood concentration of a drug at certain levels.
An individual may be charged with DUID if they are found with the following, and more:
- 0.02mg of cocaine/liter of blood
- 0.1mg or methamphetamine/liter of blood
- 0.01mg of phencyclidine/liter of blood
- 0.1mg of 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine/liter of blood
In addition, a police officer’s reasonable suspicion that an individual might have drugs in his or her system can be grounds enough for an arrest. If convicted for drugged driving, the individual will be subject to Virginia’s DUI penalties.
Multiple DUI Charges
Representing Clients in Virginia since 1982
Facing DUI charges is bad enough, but facing multiple DUI charges within a 10 year period can be a nightmare. As the potential for harsh penalties snowball, it’s important to make sure that you are well-protected. At Carleton Penn III, our Virginia DUI lawyer has decades of experience representing thousands of clients. Our firm is passionate about fighting for your rights and working towards the best possible outcome to your case.
Penalties for Multiple DUIs in Virginia
Any person found operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more can be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are arrested for DUI multiple times within a certain period of time, your penalties greatly increase.
The penalties for a Second DUI are as follows:
- Jail Time: Minimum 20 Days Maximum 1 Year
- Fines: Minimum of $500
- License Suspension: 3 Years
- Ignition Interlock Device: Required
The penalties for a Third DUI are as follows:
- Jail Time: Minimum 6 Months
- Fines: Minimum of $1,000
- License Suspension: Indefinitely
- Ignition Interlock Device: Required
With an experienced lawyer on your side, you can fight your charges and make sure that your rights are protected throughout case proceedings.
Underage DUI Attorney in Virginia
Fight for Your Future with Carleton Penn III
Alcohol consumption is illegal for anyone under the age of 21. Certain exceptions might be made if an individual under the age of 21 consumes alcohol on private premises (that do not sell alcohol) with the consent of a legal guardian. Other than that, the penalties for underage drinking are to be taken seriously.
Since 1982, Carleton Penn III has represented thousands of clients in a variety of criminal cases. Our firm has the knowledge, experience, and resources to fight for your future and will work to reduce or dismiss your charges altogether.
Penalties for Juvenile DUI in Virginia
Underage drinking has many direct consequences that go beyond your typical legal repercussions. A DUI conviction can affect college admissions, employment, housing, insurance, and more.
If charged with your first juvenile DUI, you could be facing the following:
- Imprisonment: Up to 10 days
- Fine: $250-$1,000
- License Suspension: Up to 1 year
Additionally, juvenile DUI charges can include:
- Distribution of alcohol to other minors
- Possession of alcohol as a minor
- Soliciting alcohol
- Child endangerment
- Possession of a fake I.D.
It’s imperative for anyone who has been charged with underage drinking to immediately seek the help of an experienced attorney to fight these charges. The sooner our firm can evaluate your case, the sooner we can work to craft a defense that is customized to your circumstances.
Put an Experienced DUI / DWI Attorney on Your Side!
Since 1982, Attorney Carleton Penn III has helped thousands of clients navigate a variety of criminal charges, including those related to driving under the influence. He knows how to uphold your rights and will fight to protect your best interests in court. Over the years, Carleton Penn III has established a track record of success and is well-regarded by the legal community. Learn more about your legal options by calling us today!
We are here to protect your driving privileges. Carleton Penn III is waiting to take your call. Give us a call now at (703) 293-5910 for a free consultation.
Don't Wait to Contact Your Award-Winning Purcellville Criminal Defense Lawyer
Personal attention for every case
Serving Virginia since 1982
Located across the street from the courthouse
Thousands of clients represented
Call Us today at (703) 293-5910 to schedule a free consultation and find out more about how we can help you. For the legal team with Carleton Penn III, our clients are always our primary concern!
Schedule Your Free Consultation
Let our Virginia criminal defense lawyers help you after an arrest. Fill out our secure online form or call Carleton Penn III at (703) 293-5910 today.